What is the difference between a Poll and a Survey?
For Polly, a poll is anything with 1 question, and a survey is anything with more than 1 question.
To create a survey, start by using the
/polly survey command, and we’ll link you to the web app. You can also navigate there directly if you have the URL saved or bookmarked somewhere.
Surveys are required to have both a title and a message to the team. The message acts as an appeal, and lets the user know why they need to complete the survey. Studies show that using an appeal increases response rates, so it’s a good idea to put something there, even if it’s simple.
If you're on a paid plan, you can optionally add an alias to match the team or individual that is creating the survey.
Note: Survey authoring is unlimited for Polly users on a paid plan – otherwise, if you are on a free plan, you can send out surveys, recurring or otherwise, with the audience size capped at 10 people. Learn more
Scheduling & Reminders
Surveys can be sent now, or they can be scheduled for a later date and time, and you can program them to allow voting for a few hours to a few weeks. Surveys can also be made to recur and will be asked on a regular cadence.
Polly can also be set to automatically remind those that haven’t completed the survey. From the reminder dropdowns, you can choose how often you’d like to remind users (Reminder Count), and how often you want to remind them (Reminder Frequency). So if you choose a count of 2, and a frequency of 3-day intervals, then every user that hasn’t completed the survey will be reminded once after 3 days. If they still haven’t completed the survey, they will be reminded again 3 days later.
Reminders are sent via direct message to each user, and as long as they haven’t muted Polly and/or notifications, they will receive a reminder to complete the survey
Note: Scheduling, recurring tracks for an audience larger than 10 members, and reminders for surveys are only available for teams on a paid Polly plan. Learn more
Here’s an explanation of the settings available in surveys:
- Show results in real-time / also include comments: Gives them a link to the survey once they've completed the survey to see the full survey results. If the box is unchecked for "also include comments" the audience will only see results, but not the comments.
- Automatically post results after poll closes / also include comments: The audience will not be able to see the results of the survey until after the survey has closed. If the box is unchecked for "also include comments" the audience will only see results, but the comments are hidden.
- Don't share results with audience: The audience won't be able to see the results at all, unless you explicitly decide to share the results to the audience.
- Send via a direct message*: this will toggle whether the survey is posted in channel, or if it’s posted via DM to all members of the channel. If you choose DM, they each user will get a notification.
*Send via DM is only available for Polly teams on a paid plan. Learn more
What is the difference between non-anonymous, confidential and anonymous?
Non-anonymous means that Slack usernames will be revealed for the poll/survey results.
Confidential means that usernames will be hidden, but demographic data will be applied to their responses if there are any, which will be available to the survey author. So, if you were to filter results or export data from a confidential survey, company metadata will still appear next to the anonymous responses.
Anonymous means that everything is truly anonymous and hidden and you cannot reverse engineer by filtering to “find out” who responded to a specific question.
Save as template
If you plan on using this survey multiple times in different use cases, you can create and save a template and store it in your library. You can then use it at any time either through the web app, or directly in Slack, by using the
/polly template command.
Note: saving custom templates is limited to Polly teams on a paid plan. Learn more