Voting and Commenting in Slack

Answering a Poll

Voting on a poll is pretty straightforward – click on the button, and we’ll process your vote. If the poll is not anonymous, then as soon as you vote your name will be tacked on to the real-time tally showing everyone your vote. In the anonymous case, we won’t show how you voted, but the count will still increase.

Some polls may allow you the option to “write-in” your vote. Once a poll has hit 10 options, users on a free plan will notice the write-in option will be disabled. For users on a paid plan, you can add up to 30 voting options in Slack, and an unlimited amount via the web app.

When commenting is enabled, there will be an “Add Comment” button, allowing you to add comments directly in Slack. If the poll is anonymous, then your comment will be added with just an emoji; if the poll isn’t anonymous, we’ll include your username next to the comment.

If you’re voting in a DM channel, then we’ll mark a green checkmark next to your vote. If it’s in a channel, then we’ll simply increase the tally without adding a green checkmark.  Some polls may allow you to vote for multiple options; when that’s the case the poll will tell you that you can continue voting.

anwering-a-poll

Viewing how users voted

In the case where results are public, comments or user names may no longer fit in the limited space provided in Slack.  In these situations a View All Responses button will appear. Clicking on it will send you a private message with all the results expanded.  If you’re the author, you can also view those detailed results in your dashboard on the web app.

Taking a Survey

Once you start a survey, you’ll be guided through a series of questions in the survey. If results are meant to be public, then after you complete the survey, you’ll get a link to look at the results. Be sure to pay attention to whether surveys are anonymous or not (Polly will tell you that at the beginning of the survey!)

Survey Taking 1
 
Survey Taking 2
 
Survey Complete

Snoozing a Survey

If you get a survey, and you’re not ready to complete it, you can snooze it and set a reminder for yourself. Just pop open the drop down and ask to be reminded in 30 minutes, a few hours, or a few days.

Voting and Commenting - Snooze Survey