Anonymity, scheduling, and other advanced options
By default, polls are not anonymous and allow users to vote one time. You can access the advanced options by default at any time through the web app as well.
To customize more options, hit the Advanced Options button after starting with the
Once clicked, you will see settings appear for anonymity, hiding responses, and more. Just click the option(s) of your choice.
Down in the summary, you will see the options that you have selected prior to sending. Once it looks good, just hit send!
Poll Settings and Options
- Anonymous: By default, polls are not anonymous, meaning everyone can see how others voted. Selecting this option makes the poll completely anonymous, even to the author & admins.
- Show Results: By default, we share the results in real-time with users directly in Slack. Unchecking the box will hide the results from the audience, and keep results private to the author only. Authors can view the results by logging into the dashboard, or by using the command /polly results in channel.
- Allow multi-vote: The default is that users can only vote on one option. Enabling this option lets users vote on more than 1 option
- Allow Add Options: This option is only available for multiple choice polls, and lets users “write-in” a vote.
- Scheduled: By default, the poll will send out immediately, and only once. To schedule it for a further date, you can check the box. Similarly, if you’d like the poll to recur more than once, scheduled will give you the option to choose the frequency.
One-time vs scheduled poll vs recurring
From the drop-down, you can also choose to schedule your poll, or to have your questions recur – that is, ask this same question on a recurring basis at the same time every day/week/month/etc. If you choose to ask a recurring question, you’ll also need to pick the time/date you want the first poll to go out.
Note: Scheduling is only available to Polly users on legacy paid plans, or the current Surveys or Pro plans. Learn more